Making Conversation

Over a year ago I found myself browsing in a branch of a large book chain in Toronto. On that particular day there happened to be an author promoting her book. She looked up expectantly (did she, or did I project this?) as other browsers meandered past. I thought that I should ask her a question and engage with her. I nonchalantly strolled by and glanced at the cover. The book was about Princess Diana. I am well aware that there are millions of people enthralled by the story, the glamour and the persona of Princess Diana. Those people would surely have had plenty to discuss with the author, however, as I am not one of those people I had nothing. I made a few more turns around the store trying to inconspicuously check  if someone else had decided to stop to have a word. No one had. I tried to figure out what I could possibly say. I had nothing and so after one more lap I left.

Leave a comment